Norfolk Symphony Orchestra (1)

Sunday 22 January

Book now

J Strauss II:    Overture "Die Fledermaus" 

Rodrigo:         Concierto D'Aranjuez  soloist Johan Lofving

Brahms:         Symphony No.4

We continue our Travels with Friends season with a focus on Europe. With so much repertoire to choose from, we are opening the concert with two pieces the orchestra has never played -  Johann Strauss II Overture to Die Fledermaus followed by Rodrigo's ever popular Concierto d'Aranjuez described as a curious mixture of the passion of the flamenco and the restraint of the Baroque. Our guitar soloist is Johan Lofving with whom we are looking forward to working for the first time. We close this concert with Brahms Symphony No.4, described as a work of almost mystical transcendence born of opposing emotions: melancholy and joy, severity and rhapsody, solemnity and exhilaration. A passionate rollercoaster for a winter afternoon!

Sunday 22 January 3:30pm Book now